Thursday, December 18, 2014

Season's Greetings

Image by Sasha Thurmond
copyright 2014

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Jeanne Mackin Wins Fiction Award

SYRACUSE, N.Y. -- Writers Jeanne Mackin and Joseph E. Fahey and poet Jasmine Bailey are the winners of the 2014 CNY Book Awards in fiction, nonfiction and poetry, respectively. Marianne Angelillo received the 2014 People's Choice Award. The winners were announced at a reception at La Casita Cultutral Center. This is the third year of the awards, sponsored by YMCA Downtown Writers Center.
Jeanne Mackin.JPGJeanne Mackin won the 2014 CNY Book Awards in the fiction category for "The Beautiful American." 
Jeanne Mackin won for"The Beautiful American," and Fahey won for "James K. McGuire: Boy Mayor and Irish Nationalist."Bailey was recognized for"Alexandria." Angelillo won for "Sharing My Stones."
Three independent judges selected the finalists and winners in the individual categories. Here is the list of the finalists in each category:


Michael Burkard, "Sometime in the Winter."
Paul Roth, "Long Way Back to the End."
Jasmine Bailey, "Alexandria."
Poetry judge: Kelly Davio, author of "Burn This House."


Ronald Bagliere, "The Lion of Khum Jung."
James Longstaff, "Wapsipinicon."
Jeanne Mackin, "The Beautiful American."
Fiction judge: Steve Huff, author of "A Pig in Paris."


Marianne Angelillo, "Sharing My Stones."
Joseph E. Fahey, "James K. McGuire: Boy Mayor and Irish Nationalist."
David R. Smith, "Help! I'm Bored in Church."
Nonfiction judge: Sarah Freligh, author of "Sort of Gone."

*   *   *
article courtesy of the Syracuse Post-Standard